Read, listen and learn or repeat some words and expressions about the UK.
(Прочитай, послухай і вивчи або повтори кілька слів про Велику Британію!)
  • The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, also called the United Kingdom, the UK, or Britain consists of four countries: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.
the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland — Сполучене Королівство Великої Британії та Північної Ірландії
the United Kingdom — [juːˈnaɪ.tɪdˈkɪŋ.dəm] — Сполучене Королівство
the UK — [ˌjuːˈkeɪ] — Сполучене Королівство
  • The flag of the United Kingdom is named as Union Jack.
Union Jack — [ˌjuː.ni.ən ˈdʒæk] — прапор Сполученого Королівства
  • Short history of Union Jack
  • The capital city of the United Kingdom is London.
London — [ˈlʌn.dən] — Лондон
  • Great Britain
The name Great Britain or Britain is sometimes used to refer to the United Kingdom as a whole, but actually it is the name of the largest island in the British Isles. It consists of three parts: England, the largest area in the middle of the island, Scotland, in the northern part of the island, and Wales, in the south-west of the island. The word 'British' is used to indicate any person from the UK without any separation.
Great Britain — [ˌɡreɪt ˈbrɪt.ən] — Велика Британія
Britain — [ˈbrɪt.ən] — Британія
British — [ˈbrɪt.ɪʃ] — Великобританія