Watch the first part of the video about Australia. Then read and learn about the Sydney Opera House, the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the Great Ocean Road, Sydney and Melbourne Cities.
(Подивись початок відео про Австралію! Потім читай і дізнавайся про Сіднейський оперний театр, міст Харбор-Брідж, Велику океанську дорогу, а також про Сідней і Мельбурн)!
  • The Sydney Opera House
The Sydney Opera House is a multi-venue performing arts centre at Sydney Harbour in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It is one of the 20th century's most famous and distinctive buildings.
Designed by Danish architect Jørn Utzon, but completed by an Australian architectural team headed up by Peter Hall, the building was formally opened on 20 October 1973.The building and its surrounds occupy the whole of Bennelong Point on Sydney Harbour and close by the Sydney Harbour Bridge.
The building comprises multiple performance venues, which together host well over 1,500 performances annually, attended by more than 1.2 million people. There is the 1500 seat Opera House, the Concert Hall and three other theatres as well as multiple bars and restaurants. Approximately 350,000 visitors take a guided tour of the building each year.
sydney-opera-house3 pix.jpg
the Sydney Opera House — [ˈsɪ ˈɒp.ər.ə ˌhaʊs] — Сіднейська опера
  • The Sydney Harbour Bridge
The Sydney Harbour Bridge is an Australian heritage-listed steel through arch bridge across Sydney Harbour that carries rail, vehicular, bicycle, and pedestrian traffic between the Sydney central business district (CBD) and the North Shore. The view of the bridge, the harbour, and the nearby Sydney Opera House is widely regarded as an iconic image of Sydney, and of Australia itself. The bridge is nicknamed "The Coathanger" because of its arch-based design.
The bridge was designed and built by British firm Dorman Long of Middlesbrough and opened in 1932. It is the sixth longest spanning-arch bridge in the world and the tallest steel arch bridge, measuring 134 m from top to water level. It was also the world's widest long-span bridge, at 48.8 m wide, until construction of the new Port Mann Bridge in Vancouver was completed in 2012.
sydney-harbour bridge2 pix.jpg
the Sydney Harbour Bridge — [ˈsɪ ˈhɑː.bər ˌbrɪdʒ] — Портовий міст
  • Sydney
Sydney is the state capital of New South Wales and the most populous city in Australia and Oceania and it's located on Australia's east coast. Indigenous Australians have inhabited the Sydney area for at least 30,000 years. In 1788, the First Fleet of convicts, led by Arthur Phillip, founded Sydney as a British penal colony, the first European settlement in Australia. Phillip named the city Sydney in recognition of Thomas Townshend, 1st Viscount Sydney.
Sydney — [ˈsɪ] — Сідней
New South Wales — [ˈnjuː ˌsaʊθ ˌweɪlz] — Новий Південний Уельс (Південно-Східна Австралія)
  • The Great Ocean Road
The Great Ocean Road is an Australian National Heritage listed 243-kilometre stretch of road along the south-eastern coast of Australia between the Victorian cities of Torquay and Allansford. Built by returned soldiers between 1919 and 1932 and dedicated to soldiers killed during World War I, the road is the world's largest war memorial. Winding through varying terrain along the coast and providing access to several prominent landmarks, including the Twelve Apostles limestone stack formations, the road is an important tourist attraction in the region.
great ocean road pix.jpg
the Great Ocean Road — [ˌɡreɪt ˈəʊ.ʃən ˌrəʊd] — Великий океанський шлях
12 apostles.jpg
the Twelve Apostles — [ twelv əˈpɒs.əlz] — Дванадцять апостолів (скелі)
  • Melbourne City
Melbourne is the capital and most populous city of the Australian state of Victoria, and the second most populous city in Australia and Oceania.
The city was founded on 30 August 1835, in the then-British colony of New South Wales, by free settlers from the colony of Van Diemen’s Land (modern-day Tasmania). It was named Melbourne by Governor General Richard Bourke on 10 April 1837 in honour of the then British Prime Minister, William Lamb, 2nd Viscount Melbourne. In 1851, four years after Queen Victoria declared it a city, Melbourne became the capital of the new colony of Victoria.
Melbourne — [ˈmel.bən] — Мельбурн
Victoria — [vɪkˈtɔː.ri.ə] — Вікторія (Південно-Східна Австралія)
  • Cricket
Cricket is a sport in which two teams of eleven players try to score runs (= points) by hitting a small, hard ball with a bat, and running between two sets of small wooden posts. It's very popular sport in Australia.
cricket — [ˈkrɪk.ɪt] — крикет