Read about reptiles, listen and learn some new words.
(Читай про рептилій, слухай і вчи нові слова!)
  • Lizards
There are many different kinds of lizards. Some are small enough to fit in the palm of your hand, and others are huge and look closer to something that would live with the dinosaurs. Some of the most well-known types of lizards are iguanas, geckos, chameleons, and the Komodo dragon. Each of these lizards belong to the same family, but they all have their differences. Geckos have no eyelids and they have special toes which help them to be excellent climbers. Chameleons often have the ability to change color, which helps them to talk with each other or to hide from danger.
Lizards live in different places all over the world. They are cold-blooded and this means that their body temperature is the same as the environment around them. Because they can’t control their body temperature, they usually live in warm places, such as the tropics or the deserts. Most lizards like to live close to the ground, and hide underneath rocks or in underground tunnels they dig.
Most kinds of lizards, such as geckos and iguanas, eat insects. Chameleons, on the other hand, only like to eat plants, which makes them herbivores. They like to climb high up into trees and eat the berries, fruits, and leaves that grow there. The Komodo dragon, which can grow up to 3.5 m long and weigh over 130 kg, is a carnivore, which means that it eats meat. Komodo dragons are usually pretty ferocious and they like to hunt animals that are very big in size. They have a special kind of bacteria in their saliva that paralyzes their prey after they bite them. Komodo dragons like to hunt animals such as deer, pigs, and water buffalo.
lizard — [ˈlɪz.əd] — ящірка
chameleon — [kəˈmiː.li.ən] — хамелеон
gecko pix.jpg
gecko — [ˈɡek.əʊ] — гекон
iguana — [ɪˈɡwɑː.nə] — ігуана
Komodo dragon — [kəˌməʊ.dəʊ ˈdræɡ.ən] — варан комодський